ArtsBridge Foundation presented the 2019 Shuler Award for Best Choreography, Ensemble and Overall Production to Lambert High School for its production of the musical "Newsies" performed during the 2018-19 academic year.

Musical theater students honored at 2019 Shuler Hensley awards

The ArtsBridge Foundation honored the best of the best in high school musical theater last week during the 11th Annual Shuler Hensley Awards. 

Formally known as the Georgia High School Musical Theater Awards, the two-hour stage show held April 18 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center recognized students and schools that were crowned winners in 17 categories.

The awards are named after Broadway star and Marietta native Shuler Hensley, who is the associate artistic director at City Springs Theatre Company. 

The leading actor and actress winners will travel to New York City as the Peach State’s entries for the National High School Musical Theater Awards set for June 24 at the Minskoff Theater on Broadway. The 2019 Shuler Hensley Award winners are: 

Direction: Kristy Winkes, Greater Atlanta Christian School, “Les Misérables”

Music Direction: Jane Ellis, Ringgold High School, “Thoroughly Modern Millie”

Orchestra: Todd Motter, The Walker School, “Disaster!”

Lighting Design: Natalie Cook, Greenbrier High School, “Cinderella—Broadway Version”

Showstopper: Southeast Whitfield High School, “Officer Krupke” from “West Side Story”

11 O’clock Number: Saint Vincent’s Academy, “It Only Takes A Moment” from “Hello, Dolly!”

Choreography: Carly Ann Berg, Caroline Cannizzaro, Maddie Crews, Jenna Wagner, Lambert High School, “Newsies”

Ensemble: Lambert High School, “Newsies”

Overall Production: Lambert High School, “Newsies”

Technical Execution: Jan Ewing, North Hall High School, “Mamma Mia”

Sound: Christian Duetemeyer and Leah Rogers, North Hall High School, “Peter Pan”

Scenic Design: Rick Caruso, Heritage High School, “How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying”

Costumes: David Hopkins, Milton High School, “Curtains”

Best Performance by a Leading Actor: Harrison Lewis, Milton High School, “Curtains” (Lieutenant Frank Cioffi)

Best Performance by a Leading Actress: Jessi Kirtley, Roswell High School, “Mary Poppins” (title role)

Best Performance by a Supporting Actress: Celine Sullivan, Artios Academies of Sugar Hill, “Tuck Everlasting” (Mae Tuck)

Best Performance by a Supporting Actor: Thompson Sewell, Prince Avenue Christian School, “Big Fish” (Karl the Giant)

Best Performance by a Featured Performer: Emily Bonham-Janes, Evans High School, “The Addams Family” (Morticia Addams)

You can learn more about the Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards by visiting the website

Like Cobb County News Now on Facebook |Follow on Twitter

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.