More Cobb cities join alcohol referendum

Smyrna, Kennesaw and Powder Springs have joined Cobb County, Marietta, Austell and Acworth with plans to place an alcohol referendum on the Nov. 6 ballot.

The City Councils of Smyrna, Kennesaw and Powder Springs made their unanimous decisions in favor of the referendum on July 16.

The question is whether to allow earlier Sunday sales of distilled spirits or alcoholic beverages at 11 a.m. instead of the current 12:30 p.m. at restaurants.

If approved, the change will become effective Nov. 18.

Passed by the Georgia General Assembly and signed into law on May 8 by Governor Nathan Deal, the legislation allows cities and counties to conduct these referendums for voters to make these decisions for their jurisdictions.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Black Friday 2018: Best Apple iPhone, iPad, Mac deals
  2. 2 7th District: Bourdeaux questions transparency of recount in Gwinnett
  3. 3 Even with legal cannabis, Georgians fear losing jobs

More from AJC