Henry Chamber to honor county’s STAR students, teachers

Henry County will celebrate its STAR students and teachers on Thursday.

caption arrowCaption
Henry County will celebrate its STAR students and teachers on Thursday.

The education committee of the Henry County Chamber of Commerce will honor 17 students and their chosen teachers at the annual breakfast Thursday of the Student Teacher Achievement Recognition program, also known as STAR.

STAR students are seniors with the highest SAT score at their high school. They must also be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of their class based on grade point average.

The STAR student then selects a teacher -- usually someone who has had the most influence on his/her academics -- to be honored.

Those pairs then compete for the countywide STAR title, the winners of whom move forward to regional competitions for a shot at the state championship.

This year’s event takes place at 8 a.m. at Eagle’s Landing Country Club. It’s the 62nd year for the program, which over the years has recognized more than 24,000 students and their teachers around the state.

The students and their teachers are:

Gwynneth Hernandez (student) and Sarah Kiel (teacher), Bible Baptist Christian School.

Rebecca Mai (student), Beth Burer (teacher), Community Christian School.

Walker Davidson (student), Creekside Christian Academy.

Parkaranjot Singh (student), Yamini Mital (teacher), Dutchtown High School.

Eunjin Choi (student), Minette Johnson (teacher), Eagle’s Landing Christian Academy.

Neha Singh (student), Julie Harrison (teacher), Eagle’s Landing High School.

Ryhley Byrd (student), Carsa Tennant-Newell (teacher), Hampton High School.

Karly Feltman (student), Sandra Martin (teacher), Locust Grove High School.

Ryan Cortes (student), Dean Goldgar (teacher), Luella High School.

Izzy Abdelkadir (student), Alison Beecher (teacher), McDonough High School.

Jonas McClelland (student), Bonnie Gardner (teacher), New Creation Christian Academy.

David Hill (student), Torrance McGee (teacher), Ola High School.

Students Ian Walsh and McLain Barrett tied for STAR honors at Stockbridge High School. Their respective STAR teachers are Shantaia Covin and Tony Rogers.

Will Miller (student), Rita Poole (teacher), Strong Rock Christian School.

Abby Cornell (student), Ashleigh Eidson (teacher), Union Grove High School.

Tamecka Marecheau-Miller (student), Cathryn Gammage (teacher), Woodland High School.