There is a special election in Fulton County Tuesday for seats on the Fulton County Commission and Atlanta School Board.

Fulton County elections will be held today

Elections will be held today to choose new members of the Fulton County board of commissioners and the Atlanta school board.

Because election returns are expected to come back after print deadlines for Wednesday’s newspaper, the results will be online at Tuesday night, and in Thursday’s print edition.

The polls are open Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. for the Fulton race, and until 8 p.m. in Atlanta. There are nine candidates in each race, so both races will likely go to a runoff. That election will be held Oct. 15.

Voters in the south part of Fulton County will choose a new District 6 commissioner to replace Emma Darnell, who died this spring. The district represents much of Fulton County south of I-20, including the unincorporated part of the county and some or all of nine cities.

The candidates are: Khadijah Abdur-Rahman, who has a telemarketing company; Yoshina Colbert Bradford, a real estate broker; Joe Carn, a former employee in the Fulton County solicitor’s office and former College Park city council member; Carl W. Dorsey Jr., a music producer; Sonia Frances-Rolle, an educational consultant; Sojourner Marable Grimmett, who works for an affordable housing nonprofit; Warren C. Head Jr., a retired retail sales manager; Rafer Johnson, a Delta Air Lines employee; and Gordon L. Joyner, a lawyer and a former Fulton County commissioner.

Central Atlanta voters will choose a new District 2 representative to the school board. Byron Amos resigned to run for Atlanta city council.

The candidates are: Aretta Baldon, Christopher Brown, Keisha Carey, Will Chandler, Nathaniel Dyer, Davida Huntley, Ed Johnson, Chadd Jonesmith and Paula Kupersmith.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.