All four incumbents victorious in McDonough

Perhaps the least-surprising results in Henry County races after the Nov. 7 election were in McDonough, where all four incumbents are returning to office.

Billy Copeland won re-election as mayor with 68 percent of the vote citywide, while at-large councilman Roger Pruitt garnered 56 percent of the vote to keep his seat. The other council seats are divided into districts in McDonough, the only city to do so. Rufus Stewart was unopposed in District I, while Sandra Vincent got 62 percent of the vote in District 2 against Mike Crawford, who served on the council a decade ago. McDonough is the only city in the county with council districts.

The new term for each winning candidate begins in January.