DeKalb unveils EV charging stations

DeKalb County is announcing the public availability of three electric vehicle charging stations to accommodate the area’s high number of alternative-fuel car owners.

These charging stations, which are partially funded by a state program that allows 50 percent reimbursement of installation costs, will be available for public use for any battery electric, plug-in hybrid and extended range vehicles.

The stations are located at the county’s administration building, fleet maintenance building and the Sanitation Division’s central transfer station.

A ribbon-cutting ceremony for the charging stations will be held Thursday at 11 a.m. at the DeKalb Sanitation Division’s central transfer station parking lot at 3720 Leroy Scott Blvd. in Decatur.

To find electronic vehicle charging stations in DeKalb, visit