Cobb County elections director named best in state

Cobb County Elections and Registration Director Janine Eveler has been selected the winner of the 2021 Ann Hicks Award during this year’s Georgia Association of Voter Registration and Elections Officials Conference. This award is presented to an election official to recognize their excellence in elections administration, according to a Cobb County statement.

Eveler helped carry Cobb County through the 2020 election cycle, using the new statewide voting system administered by Dominion Voting Systems, which has a nearly $107 million contract that began in July 2019. She was presented the award by Georgia Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger during the banquet on the final night of the Aug. 29 to Sept. 1 conference on Jekyll Island.