True Colors Theatre’s musical revue “Chasin’ Dem Blues” features Brad Raymond (from left), Jeremy Cohen, Maiesha McQueen and Anthony David. CONTRIBUTED BY JOSH LAMKIN

What to do in Atlanta: Performing arts | July 15-22

Dance with Savion Glover and boogie down with "The Motown Sound" or "Chasin' dem Blues: The Untold Story of Paramount Records".

“The Secret Garden.” Presented by Serenbe Playhouse. Through Aug. 2. $10-$20. 10496 Serenbe Lane, Chattahoochee Hills. www.serenbeplayhouse.com.

“Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type.” Through July 26. $16.50. Center for Puppetry Arts, 1404 Spring St. N.W., Atlanta. 404-873-3391, www.puppet.org.

"Sondheim on Sondheim." Through July 18. $15-$28. Act3 Productions, 6285 Roswell Road N.E., Atlanta. www.act3productions.org.

“The Motown Sound.” Through July 26. $20-$25. The Earl Smith Strand Theatre, 117 N. Park Square, Marietta. www.earlsmithstrand.org.

“Chasin’ dem Blues: The Untold Story of Paramount Records.” Through Aug. 2. $20-$35. True Colors Theatre Company at Southwest Arts Center, 915 New Hope Road, Atlanta. 1-877-725-8849,www.TrueColorsTheatre.org.

“Water By The Spoonful.” Through July 19. $15-$26. Pinch ‘n’ Ouch Theatre, 195 Arizona Ave., Atlanta. www.pnotheatre.org.

“The Dixie Swim Club.” Through July 26. $15-$27. Art Station, 5384 Manor Drive, Stone Mountain. www.artstation.org.

“Two Trains Running.” Through July 26. $20. Greater Travelers Rest Baptist Church, 4650 Flat Shoals Parkway, Decatur. www.newafricangrove.com.

“Rent.” Through Aug. 9. $20-$45. Actor’s Express, 887 W. Marietta St., Suite J-107, Atlanta. www.actors-express.com.

“Footloose.” Through Aug. 2. $15-$25. The Legacy Theatre, 1175 Senoia Road, Tyrone. www.thelegacytheatre.org.

“Going to St. Ives.” By Lee Blessing. Through July 19. $17-$20. Impact Theatre Atlanta and Academy Theatre at Stockbridge Community Arts Center, 146 Burke St., Stockbridge. academytheatre.org.

Roswell Summer Puppet Series: “The Emperor’s New Clothes.”  Through July 18. $5. Roswell Cultural Arts Center, 950 Forrest St., Roswell.  www.roswellgov.com/PuppetShows.  Read more about the Roswell Summer Puppet Series here.

 “Mary Poppins.” July 16-18. $15; $10 for senior citizens and students. First United Methodist Church of Smyrna, 1315 Concord Road, Smyrna. 770-436-4108, www.smyrnafumc.org/mary-poppins.

“Steel Magnolias.” July 16-Aug. 2. $20-$25. Gypsy Theatre Company at Sylvia Beard Theatre, 2200 Buford Highway, Buford. www.gypsytheatre.biz.

“Neighborhood 3: Requisition of Doom.” July 16-26. $10. Newnan Theater Company, 24 First Ave., Newnan. newnantheatre.com.

“Blackpool and Parrish.” July 17-Aug. 1. $17-$25.  Out of Box Theatre at the Artisan Resource Center, 585 Cobb Parkway, Suite C-1, Marietta. www.outofboxtheatre.com.

“Uprising.” July 17-Aug. 23. $25-$35. Horizon Theatre Company, 1083 Austin Ave. N.E., Atlanta. www.horizontheatre.com.

“Cats.” Presented by Atlanta Lyric Theatre. July 17-19. $40.25-$61.50. Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, 2800 Cobb Galleria Parkway, Atlanta. www.cobbenergycentre.com.

“The World is My Home: The Life of Paul Robeson.” 8 p.m. July 17 and 31. $20. Hapeville Performing Arts Center, 599 North Central Ave., Atlanta. academytheatre.org.

“Once Upon a Mattress.” July 17-Aug. 9. $15-$18; $10 for everyone on Aug. 6. Act1 Theatre at Alpharetta Presbyterian Church, 180 Academy St., Alpharetta. act1theater.com.

“A Midsummer Night’s Dream.” July 17-Aug. 2. $15-$36. Atlanta Shakespeare Company at the New American Shakespeare Tavern, 499 Peachtree St. N.E., Atlanta. www.shakespearetavern.com.

Savion Glover: “SoLe Sanctuary.” 6 p.m. July 19. $33-$48. Rialto Center for the Arts, 80 Forsyth St. N.W., Atlanta. rialtocenter.org.

“Almost Heaven: John Denver’s America.” Presented by Georgia Ensemble Theatre. July 23-Aug. 8. $15-$30. Chattahoochee Nature Center, 9135 Willeo Road, Roswell. 770-641-1260, get.org.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

X