WarnerMedia donates $250,000 to 19 Atlanta arts organizations

WarnerMedia, with significant operations in Atlanta, has donated $250,000 to 19 arts organizations in town with a focus on smaller operations that are being financially hit by  the current pandemic.

Most cultural institutions have been shut down for nearly two months. 

“We believe storytelling is a vehicle for impact and social change. WarnerMedia remains committed to Atlanta, and this relief fund, combined with our regular funding, represents a total investment of over $1 million in funding to Atlanta arts and cultural organizations this year,” said Dennis Williams, senior vice president of corporate social responsibility for WarnerMedia. 

AT&T purchased Time Warner last year and dissolved Turner Entertainment as an entity in Atlanta, splitting up the various operations here into three separate groups of WarnerMedia. But the company has not made significant cuts in its Atlanta operations, which exceed 5,000 employees. 

Relief grants range from $10,000 to $25,000. Beyond the COVID-19 relief contributions, WarnerMedia and AT&T have pledged to commit about $750,000 in general support to Atlanta artistic and cultural institutions in 2020.

Here are the recipients:

Actor's Express: actors-express.com

ArtsATL: artsatl.org

Atlanta Ballet: atlantaballet.com

Atlanta Contemporary: atlantacontemporary.org

The Atlanta Opera: atlantaopera.org

C4 Atlanta: https://c4atlanta.org

Center for Civil & Human Rights: civilandhumanrights.org

Center of Puppetry Arts: puppet.org

Dad's Garage Theatre: dadsgarage.com

Dance Canvas Balletique: dancecanvas.com/home

Hammonds House Museum: hammondshouse.org

Horizon Theatre: horizontheatre.com

Moving in the Spirit: movinginthespirit.org

National Black Arts Festival: nbaf.org
Serenbe Playhouse: https://serenbeplayhouse.org/
Synchronicity Performance Group: synchrotheatre.com/
Theatrical Outfit: https://www.theatricaloutfit.org
TILA Studios: tilastudios.com
True Colors Theatre: truecolorstheatre.org

“We’re so happy to continue to have WarnerMedia and AT&T as a partner and appreciate the donation,” said Matt Terrell, Dad’s Garage comedy theater communications director. 

Turner, now WarnerMedia, has provided Dad’s Garage with funding support for many years, he noted. And they have helped Dad’s performers create digital programming for TwitchTV “until we return to normal in-person performances, he said. 

Serenbe Playhouse received $10,000.

“We are very thankful to have companies like WarnerMedia and AT&T here in Atlanta that believe not only in storytelling for social change, but the people who are doing storytelling,” said Mickey McGuire, Serenbe Playhouse managing director. “This is a difficult time not only for organizations, but for the artists and technicians who may be worrying about paying rent or providing for their families. This relief fund helps us support our amazing employees and local artists as we continue to tell our stories.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

About the Author

Rodney Ho
Rodney Ho
Rodney Ho covers radio and television for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.
X