Georgia revives ‘Complete Count’ group to prep for 2020 Census

(Courtesy of U.S. Census Bureau)

(Courtesy of U.S. Census Bureau)

Gov. Brian Kemp has revived a committee designed to prepare Georgians for the U.S. Census by tapping dozens of leaders to serve on a panel that will help craft the state’s approach to the once-in-a-decade headcount of the nation’s population.

The Complete Count Committee includes the heads of the state Democratic and Republican parties, elected officials and civic leaders, and the director of a nonprofit launched by Stacey Abrams to ensure hard-to-count populations are tallied.

The stakes are high. The data collected in 2020 will determine each state’s share of representatives in Congress and nearly $900 billion in federal funding. The nationwide count will also trigger the redrawing of the state’s political maps.

The state committee was created by Gov. Nathan Deal in 2017 and Kemp’s administration kept many of the members. It will be chaired by Rusty Haygood of the Department of Community Affairs and Anna Miller of the governor’s budget office.

The group is dotted with political leaders from both parties, including state Rep. Calvin Smyre, a Democrat who is the longest-serving member in the Legislature, and state Rep. Jodi Lott, a Republican who is one of Kemp’s strongest allies.

The committee also includes Jeanine Abrams McLean, the sister of Stacey Abrams and the program director of Fair Count, which focuses on minorities, non-English speakers, renters and others who are more likely to be skipped in the count.

The Kemp administration said two of the committee’s members – Democratic strategist Tharon Johnson and Lori Geary, a media consultant and former Channel 2 Action News anchor - will serve as co-executive directors of a state marketing campaign for the 2020 census called “Every. One. Counts.”

Here are the members of Kemp’s Complete Count Committee:

Kerry Armstrong, Atlanta Regional Commission

Patty Bentley, State Representative, District 139

Frank Berry, Department of Community Health

Matt Brass, State Senator, District 28

Candice Broce, Office of the Governor

Otis Brumby, Georgia Press Association

Margaret Ciccarelli, Professional Association of Georgia Educators

Robyn Crittenden, Department of Human Services

Delores Crowell, DeKalb County Government

Derek Dabrowiak, Technical College System of Georgia

Hardie Davis, City of Augusta

Eddie DeLoach, City of Savannah

Matt Dubnik, State Representative, District 29

Judy Fitzgerald, Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental Disabilities

John Gayle, City of Valdosta

Lori Geary, Lexicon Strategies

Mike Giles, Georgia Poultry Federation

Frank Ginn, State Senator, District 47

Larry Hanson, Georgia Municipal Association

Jeanine Abrams McLean, Fair Count

Laura Meadows, Carl Vinson Institute of Government

Rusty Haygood, Department of Community Affairs

Andy Herod, Athens-Clarke County Unified Government

Skip Henderson, City of Columbus

Bob Houghton, Georgia Association of Broadcasters

Dorothy Hubbard, City of Albany

Amy Jacobs, Department of Early Care and Learning

Tharon Johnson, Paramount Consulting Group, LLC

John King, Department of Insurance and Fire Safety

Dominic LaRiccia, State Representative, District 169

Gerald Long, Georgia Farm Bureau

Jodi Lott, State Representative, District 122

Brian Marlowe, Tifton-Tift County Chamber of Commerce

Santiago Marquez, Georgia Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Tony Marshall, Georgia Health Care Association

Nealie McCormick, Council on American Indian Concerns; City of Pelham

Pat Merritt, Georgia EMC

Anna Miller, Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget

Susan Miller, Department of Community Affairs

Jerald Mitchell, Atlanta BeltLine, Inc.

Tyrone Oliver, Department of Juvenile Justice

Lamar Paris, Union County Commissioner

Sunny Patel, Office of the Governor

Billy Pittard, Association of County Commissioners of Georgia

Allen Poole, Governor’s Office of Highway Safety

Condace Pressley, Cox Media Group

Bert Reeves, State Representative, District 34

Robert Reichert, City of Macon

Edward Reynolds, City of Bainbridge

Johnna Robinson, Georgia Power

Mike Roby, Department of Veterans Service

Terry Rogers, State Representative, District 10

Jay Sanders, Department of Corrections

David Shafer, Chair, Georgia Republican Party

Gregg Simon, Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce

Freddie Powell Sims, State Senator, District 12

Calvin Smyre, State Representative, District 135

Keith Stone, Office of the Georgia Secretary of State

Brian Strickland, State Senator, District 17

Tiffany Taylor, Department of Education

Blake Tillery, State Senator, District 19

Felita Williams, University System of Georgia

Nikema Williams, Chair, Democratic Party of Georgia

Matthew Wilson, State Representative, District 80

June Wood, Henry County Board of Commissioners

Mike Worley, Georgia Wildlife Federation