A look at who's qualifying for Georgia's open legislative races in 2017

Eight candidates jumped in the race for former state Sen. Hunter Hill's swingy Buckhead-based district: Democrats Jaha Howard,  Jen Jordan and Taos Wynn; and Republicans Kathy Eichenblatt, Leah Aldridge, Charlie Fiveash, Matt Bentley and Leo Smith.

Four Democrats are in the running to succeed ex-state Sen. Vincent Fort in his deep-blue Atlanta seat: Elijah Tutt, Linda Pritchett, Marckeith DeJesus and Nikema Williams. A sole Republican is also in the running: Nick Carlson.

One Democratic candidate qualified to replace ex-state Rep. Stacey Evans, who vacated her Smyrna-based seat to run for governor: Smyrna Mayor pro tem Teri Anulewicz.

Two candidates qualified to succeed ex-state Rep. Regina Quick in a conservative-leaning Athens district: Democrat Deborah Gonzalez and Republican Houston Gaines.

The contest to fill former state Rep. Stacey Abrams' Atlanta-based district drew four challengers. Democrats Sachin Varghese, Monique Keane, Bee Nguyen and David Abbott all threw their hats in the ring for the left-leaning seat.

And the race to replace former state Rep. Chuck Williams of Watkinsville, who represents a conservative-leaning Watkinsville-based district, attracted three candidates: Democrat Jonathan Wallace and Republicans Lawton Lord, Steven Strickland and Marcus Wiedower.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author

Greg Bluestein
Greg Bluestein
Greg Bluestein is a political reporter who covers the governor's office and state politics for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.