2019 CMAs: Lil Nas X gets nomination for ‘Old Town Road’

Billboard kicked the song off it’s country music chart, but it could win a Country Music Association trophy

"Old Town Road," Lil Nas X's genre-bending single with Billy Ray Cyrus, is a contender for musical event of the year at the 2019 Country Music Association Awards.

The nominations were announced Wednesday.

Despite the singer's country attire, the rural theme and the song's debut on Billboard's Hot Country Songs chart, "Old Town Road" was declared not country enough. Billboard removed the song from its chart, causing outrage.

But it’s apparently country enough for the CMAs, even if it received only one nomination.

» Lil Nas X breaks Billboard chart record with 'Old Town Road'

Billboard reported that Maren Morris leads the pack with six nominations, with Brothers Osborne close behind with four nods, according to Rolling Stone. Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Luke Combs, Kacey Musgraves, Blake Shelton, Stapleton and Carrie Underwood each have three nods.

Underwood is returning to host, but instead of Brad Paisley, she'll be joined by special guest hosts Reba McEntire and Dolly Parton.

» Lil Nas X's 'Old Town Road' inspires nonverbal autistic boy to sing

» Twitter reacts to Atlanta rapper Lil Nas X coming out on World Pride Day

The CMAs will air live on ABC at 8 p.m. EST on Wednesday, Nov. 13, from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

The nominees are:

Album of the Year
"Center Point Road," Thomas Rhett
"Cry Pretty," Carrie Underwood
"Dan + Shay," Dan + Shay
"Desperate Man," Eric Church
"Girl," Maren Morris

Musical Event of the Year
"All My Favorite People," Maren Morris featuring Brothers Osborne
"Brand New Man," Brooks & Dunn with Luke Combs
"Dive Bar," Garth Brooks and Blake Shelton
"Old Town Road (Remix)," Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus
"What Happens In A Small Town," Brantley Gilbert and Lindsay Ell

New Artist of the Year
Cody Johnson
Carly Pearce
Ashley McBryde
Morgan Wallen

Entertainer of the Year
Garth Brooks
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban
Carrie Underwood
Eric Church

Single of the Year
"Burning Man," Dierks Bentley featuring Brothers Osborne
"Girl," Maren Morris 
"God's Country," Blake Shelton
"Millionaire," Chris Stapleton
"Speechless," Dan + Shay

Song of the Year
"Beautiful Crazy," Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Robert Williford
"Girl," Maren Morris, Sarah Aarons and Greg Kurstin
"God's Country," Devin Dawson, Jordan Schmidt and Michael Hardy
"Rainbow," Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves
"Tequila," Dan Smyers, Nicolle Galyon and Jordan Reynolds

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Zac Brown Band

About the Author