Rialto Center for the Arts celebrates centennial, announces 2016-2017 season

The Rialto Center for the Arts is celebrating two major milestones this year.

The performance venue and former movie theater is celebrating 100 years in downtown Atlanta and 20 years with Georgia State University.

Following a movie series that celebrated the venues historic past, the 2016-2017 season schedule has been revealed.

As in previous years, the 833-seat performance venue will host 17 performances showcasing some of the best international talent in in contemporary dance, jazz and more.

The season will kick off on Oct. 15 with political satire group Capitol Step’s “Mock the Vote!” In addition to the return of fan favorite Brazil’s Balé Folclórico da Bahia, the Rialto will once again pay tribute to its theater past when Alloy Orchestra performs a live accompaniment to the 1927 film sci-fi film “Metropolis.”

Single tickets for the season went on sale today (Aug. 16). Tickets can be purchased at rialto.gsu.edu, in person at the box office or via phone 404-413-9849.

Here is the full schedule for the Rialto’s 2016-2017 season:

Capitol Steps
Mock the Vote!
Saturday, October 15, 2016

Vertigo Dance Company – Vertigo 20
Dizzyingly Dramatic Dance
Saturday October 22, 2016

"Metropolis" accompanied by Alloy Orchestra
The Sounds of Silents!
Saturday, November 12, 2016

Chucho Valdés and Joe Lovano Quintet
Jazz Innovators Join Forces
Saturday, November 13, 2016

19th Annual Gala Holiday Concert
Georgia State University School of Music
Saturday and Sunday, December 3-4, 2016

Jazz Masters featuring Ramey Lewis, Jimmy Cobb, Lou Donaldson and Richard Davis
Saturday, January 21, 2017

The Nile Project
A Musical Voyage along the Nile
Saturday, January 28, 2017

Malpaso Dance Company
Cuban Contemporary Dance
Saturday, Feb. 11, 2017

Sweet Honey in the Rock
Sweet Blend of Music and Message
Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017

Balé Folclórico da Bahia
From Carnival to Capoeira – 2 Different Shows!
Friday and Saturday, February 24-25, 2017

Dianne Reeves
Rialto Fan Favorite!
Saturday, March 4, 2017

Shaolin Warriors: The Legend Continues
A Theatrical Production of Kun Fu and Zen!
Saturday, March 25, 2017

Eddie Palmieri
Legendary Mambo Master
Saturday, April 1, 2017

Randy Brecker with the Georgia State University Jazz Band
Thursday, April 6, 2016

Bent Frequency performs the music of John Luther Adams
Groundbreaking Sonic Landscapes
Sunday, April 9, 2017

Don Giovanni by W. A. Mozart
Georgia State University Opera Theater and Symphony Orchestra
Friday, Saturday and Sunday, April 21-23, 2017