Zac Brown released his first solo album, "The Controversy," on Sept. 27, 2019. Photo: Andy Sapp

Zac Brown releases surprise solo album, ‘The Controversy’

A week after The Zac Brown Band dropped its new album, “The Owl,” the group’s frontman and namesake has delivered a surprise solo release.

“The Controversy,” available on all digital platforms, is Brown’s first solo effort and includes collaborations with well-regarded pop producers such as Max Martin, Benny Blanco and Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd.

Brown also enlisted his bandmates for “Lion’s Den” and collaborates with EDM star Skrillex on “Time.”

“I’ve always been influenced by all genres and never want to limit myself to a single type of music. I love my band and love creating music with them, but we all pursue our own thing in addition to what we put out together and support each other’s creative endeavors,” Brown said in a statement. “This album is an outlet for me to explore pop music, a broad category in its own right, without expectations.” 

Brown recorded most of the album at his Southern Ground Nashville studio and released it independently on No Reserve Inc., which is part of the Zac Brown Collective. 

To stream, download or listen visit:

“The Controversy” track list:

  • “Nowhere Left to Go”
  • “Time”
  • “Spend It All On You”
  • “Swayze” (feat. Sasha Sirota)
  • “Lion’s Den”
  • “Dream Sellin’” (feat. Poo Bear and Sasha Sirota)
  • “This Far”
  • “Always and Never”
  • Follow the Atlanta Music Scene on Facebook and Twitter. 

    Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

    Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

    About the Author

    Melissa Ruggieri
    Melissa Ruggieri
    Atlanta Journal-Constitution staff writer Melissa Ruggieri covers music and entertainment news for the AJC. She remembers when MTV was awesome.