Hear unreleased Prince songs on upcoming reissue of 'Purple Rain' album

Credit: Melissa Ruggieri

Credit: Melissa Ruggieri


(This post was originally filed at 1:23 p.m. April 28, 2017)

A trove of Prince-ly treasures awaits fans this summer.

On June 23, NPG Records and Warner Bros. Records will release deluxe and deluxe expanded editions of his Oscar and Grammy-winning soundtrack to “Purple Rain.”

Fans who pre-order the release will unlock an instant download of the previously unreleased song, "Electric Intercourse," which was recorded in 1983 and only heard in live incarnations.

The two-disc "Purple Rain Deluxe" set includes the official 2015 Paisley Park remaster of the original tapes from the soundtrack, which Prince curated himself. The second disc, "From the Vault & Unreleased," offers 11 songs from the Prince vault, including 1984's "Our Destiny/Roadhouse Garden" – performed by The Revolution at Celebration 2017 - and the 1983 instrumental, "Father's Song."

All of the material for the re-release comes from the source and was mastered by Bernie Grundman, who handled the mastering on the original album.

The deluxe expanded version of the album includes a third disc, “Single Edits & B-Sides,” as well as the concert DVD, “Prince and the Revolution Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, N.Y., March 30, 1985.”

Here is the complete tracklist for both editions.


Disc One:  Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)

  1. Let's Go Crazy
  2. Take Me With U
  3. The Beautiful Ones
  4. Computer Blue
  5. Darling Nikki
  6. When Doves Cry
  7. I Would Die 4 U
  8. Baby I'm A Star
  9. Purple Rain

Disc Two:  From The Vault & Previously Unreleased

  1. The Dance Electric
  2. Love And Sex
  3. Computer Blue ("Hallway Speech" version)
  4. Electric Intercourse (studio)
  5. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
  6. Possessed (1983 version)
  7. Wonderful Ass
  8. Velvet Kitty Cat
  9. Katrina's Paper Dolls
  10. We Can Fuck
  11. Father's Song


Includes Disc One and Disc Two as Listed Above

Disc Three:  Single Edits & B-Sides

  1. When Doves Cry (edit)
  2. 17 Days
  3. Let's Go Crazy (edit)
  4. Let's Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
  5. Erotic City
  6. Erotic City ("Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive")
  7. Purple Rain (edit)
  8. God
  9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
  10. Another Lonely Christmas
  11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
  12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
  13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
  14. Baby I'm A Star (edit)
  15. Take Me With U (edit)

DVD:  Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome,  Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985

  1. Let's Go Crazy
  2. Delirious
  3. 1999
  4. Little Red Corvette
  5. Take Me With U
  6. Do Me, Baby
  7. Irresistible Bitch
  8. Possessed
  9. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore?
  10. Let's Pretend We're Married
  11. International Lover
  12. God
  13. Computer Blue
  14. Darling Nikki
  15. The Beautiful Ones
  16. When Doves Cry
  17. I Would Die 4 U
  18. Baby I'm A Star
  19. Purple Rain

Follow the AJC Music Scene on Facebook and Twitter.


Meet the man who has written about Prince for 40 years

The Revolution memorializes Prince at Celebration concert

Inside Paisley Park on the anniversary of Prince’s death

Members of The Revolution reflect on Prince’s death, talk tour

Prince remembered throughout Minneapolis

Prince’s estate halts release of new EP

FunkJazz Kafe founder Jason Orr talks Prince’s influence on Atlanta music

Kristian Bush talks Prince’s musical influence

Mastodon’s Brann Dailor talks “Purple Rain”