Dave Chappelle hosted the Gem City Shine benefit concert in Dayton's Oregon District on Sunday, Aug. 25, 2019. Stevie Wonder, Chance the Rapper, Thundercat and Teyana Taylor were among the performers and there were also appearances made by Jon Stewart, Chris Rock, Fonzworth Bentley and more. TOM GILLIAM / CONTRIBUTING PHOTOGRAPHER
Photo: Tom Gilliam
Photo: Tom Gilliam

Chance the Rapper postpones tour until 2020

Chance the Rapper is taking paternity leave and bumping his tour to 2020.

The Chicago artist announced on his Instagram page that he wanted to postpone “The Big Day” tour to spend time with his new family.

“I thought it over for the past week and I’ve decided to push back my tour. This year has been one of the greatest of my life; Marriage, new baby, first album etc. But with it being so eventful it has also been very strenuous having to divide my time and energy between family and work,” Chance wrote.

The Atlanta show, originally set for Oct. 15, will now take place at State Farm Arena on Jan. 29.

Previously purchased tickets will be honored at the new date; those unable to attend can attain a refund at point of purchase. Tickets are also on sale via www.livenation.com

Chance The Rapper North American 2019/ 2020 Tour Dates:

 Fri Sep 20, 2019 Las Vegas, NV Life Is Beautiful 

Sat Sep 21, 2019 Las Vegas, NV iHeartRadio Music Festival 

Sat Sep 28, 2019 

Sun Nov 10, 2019 Chicago, IL 

Miami, FL United Center 

Miami Beach Pop Festival 

Wed Jan 15, 2020 San Diego, CA Pechanga Arena 

Thu Jan 16, 2020 Los Angeles, CA The Forum 

Fri Jan 17, 2020 San Francisco, CA Chase Center 

Sun Jan 19, 2020 Phoenix, AZ Gila River Arena 

Tue Jan 21, 2020 Denver, CO Pepsi Center 

Thu Jan 23, 2020 Austin, TX Frank Erwin Center 

Sat Jan 25, 2020 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center 

Sun Jan 26, 2020 Houston, TX Toyota Center 

Tue Jan 28, 2020 Nashville, TN Bridgestone Arena 

Wed Jan 29, 2020 Atlanta, GA State Farm Arena 

Thu Jan 30, 2020 Charlotte, NC Spectrum Center 

Sat Feb 1, 2020 Louisville, KY KFC Yum! Center 

Tue Feb 4, 2020 Cleveland, OH Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse 

Thu Feb 6, 2020 Detroit, MI Little Caesars Arena 

Sat Feb 8, 2020 New York, NY Madison Square Garden 

Mon Feb 10, 2020 Buffalo, NY KeyBank Center 

Wed Feb 12, 2020 Toronto, ON Scotiabank Arena 

Thu Feb 13, 2020 Montreal, QC Bell Centre 

Fri Feb 14, 2020 Boston, MA TD Garden 

Tue Feb 18, 2020 Washington, DC Capital One Arena 

Wed Feb 19, 2020 

Thu Feb 20, 2020 

Sat Feb 22, 2020 

Mon Feb 24, 2020 Philadelphia, PA 

Pittsburgh, PA 

Kansas City, MO 

Milwaukee, WI Wells Fargo Center 

PPG Paints Arena 

Sprint Center 

Fiserv Forum

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author

Melissa Ruggieri
Melissa Ruggieri
Atlanta Journal-Constitution staff writer Melissa Ruggieri covers music and entertainment news for the AJC. She remembers when MTV was awesome.  
X