Atlanta Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan (2) warms up before the first half of an NFL football game between the Atlanta Falcons and the New Orleans Saints, Sunday, Jan. 1, 2017, in Atlanta. (AP Photo/David Goldman)
Photo: David Goldman
Photo: David Goldman

Pro Football Writers vote Falcons’ Matt Ryan MVP

The Pro Football Writers of America selected Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan as the NFL’s 2016 Most Valuable Player and offensive player of the year.

Ryan is the first Falcons player to earn PFWA’s MVP award in its 43-year history. Ryan is a top candidate for the Associated Press MVP Award, which was voted on before the playoffs and will be announced during Super Bowl week.

Ryan already has been voted to the 2016 Associated Press All-Pro team and the Pro Bowl. It was his first All-Pro selection and fourth Pro Bowl honor.

Ryan has passed for a franchise-record 4,944 yards with 38 TDs and seven interceptions while completing a career-high 69.9 percent of his attempts. The Falcons earned the NFC’s No. 2 seed are set to face the Packers in the NFC Championship game Sunday at the Georgia Dome.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.