WATCH: RB Kerryon Johnson scores first TD for Auburn football in 2017

AUBURN, Ala. — The thunder was missing, but the lightning still struck in Jordan-Hare Stadium on Saturday night.

Auburn starter Kamryn Pettway was announced as “unavailable” prior to the Tigers’ home opener against Georgia Southern. Fortunately his co-starter Kerryon Johnson was ready to go.

Johnson broke free during the third drive of the first quarter and ran 60 yards for Auburn football’s initial touchdown score of the 2017 season.

MORE: What Auburn football coaches mean when they talk “eye discipline” for Week 1

The only problem with the touchdown score is it came after two drives from Jarrett Stidham and Auburn’s offensive crew that didn’t exactly live up to expectations.

Senior kicker Daniel Carlson attempted two straight field goals on the Tigers’ first two drives, connecting on his first (50 yards).

Carlson missed wide on his second attempt, keeping Auburn up by three.

RELATED: Father of Georgia Southern football holds a special place in Auburn football history

Head coach Gus Malzahn, who previously said no players were suspended in the days leading up to the opener, will address the absence of Pettway, receiver Kyle Davis and quarterback Sean White after the game. It’s unknown whether the trio will miss one game or possibly more.

Until Pettway returns, however, Auburn fans can rest easy knowing they’ve got a motivated Johnson in the backfield.

Last season Johnson just missed the 1,000-yard mark, rushing for a total of  895 yards in his 12 appearances. The sophomore also made six starts, also starting Auburn’s 2016 season opener against eventual national champion Clemson.

The post WATCH: RB Kerryon Johnson scores first TD for Auburn football in 2017 appeared first on SEC Country.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.