Virginia Tech LB Tremaine Edmunds named Butkus Award finalist

Virginia Tech Hokies junior linebacker Tremaine Edmunds was named a finalist for the Butkus Award on Monday morning. Edmunds is one of five finalists, two of which are in the ACC.

Since 1985, the Butkus Award has been awarded annually to the nation’s top linebacker in the FBS. Last year, Alabama linebacker Rueben Foster won the award. He is one of two Alabama linebackers who have won it over the last 4 seasons – the other being C.J. Mosley in 2013. The last time a linebacker from the ACC won the award was Boston College’s Luke Kuechly in 2011.

The ACC has as good a chance as any conference of winning the Butkus Award this year. In addition to Edmunds, Clemson’s Dorian O’Daniel is a finalist. The other three finalists are Michigan’s Devin Bush, Wisconsin’s T.J. Edmunds and Georgia’s Roquan Smith.

With these finalists, that means a player from Alabama or Notre Dame will not win the award. A Crimson Tide or Irish linebacker has won the Butkus Award four of the last five seasons.

Edmunds has 93 tackles, including 11.0 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks this season.

The post Virginia Tech LB Tremaine Edmunds named Butkus Award finalist appeared first on Diehards.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.