Seven Pac-12 assistants named nominees for Broyles Award

The Pac-12 hasn’t produced a bonafide national contender (Washington is on the outside looking in), but it’s the home of some pretty good assistant coaches.

Seven of the conference’s assistants were nominated for the Broyles Award, the Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation announced on Wednesday. The Broyles Award honors college football’s top assistant coaches. Fifty-six nominees were chosen nationally.

The Pac-12 coaches nominated for the award are as follows:

  • Arizona State defensive coordinator Phil Bennett
  • Arizona co-offensive coordinator Rod Smith
  • California offensive coordinator Beau Baldwin
  • Oregon defensive coordinator Jim Leavitt
  • USC offensive coordinator Tee Martin
  • Washington defensive coordinator Pete Kwiatkowski
  • Washington State defensive coordinator/secondary coach Alex Grinch

Perhaps the most interesting nomination is USC’s Martin, who has been under fire during the Trojans’ struggles this season, but has also been rumored to be in line for a potential head coaching gig at Tennessee. Conflicting opinions of the coordinator haven’t kept him from the nomination, though with a field of 56 nominees, anyone’s odds aren’t all that great to take home the honor.

Washington’s Kwiatkowski is in charge of the Pac-12’s best defense, and one of the nation’s top units. Washington State’s Grinch has directed a surprisingly effective unit, which currently ranks 39th in the nation in points allowed per game (22.7). Grinch’s nomination is his third in as many years.

Oregon’s Leavitt has led a turnaround for the Ducks, which was notably strong earlier in the season but has since experienced its ups and downs thanks to injuries and the grind of a tough regular season. Leavitt was a finalist for the award in 2016, after he led one of the nation’s best defenses at Colorado.

The nominees will be narrowed down to 5 finalists before the winner is announced after the conclusion of the 2017 season.

The post Seven Pac-12 assistants named nominees for Broyles Award appeared first on Diehards.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.