Rematch history favors Oklahoma in Big 12 title game

The Big 12 Championship Game will return for the first time since 2010 on Saturday, as No. 3 Oklahoma goes head-to-head with No. 11 TCU.

Unlike the previous installation of the title game, it will now be an annual rematch given the Big 12’s round robin format. The conference has shrunk from 12 teams to 10 teams since 2010.

But that didn’t keep rematches from occurring during the Big 12 Championship Game’s first run from 1996 to 2010. And if history is any indicator, the Sooners may own an edge on Saturday.

In the six previous Big 12 title games to result in a regular-season rematch, the previous winner prevailed four times. Oklahoma accounted for three of those instances — 2000, 2002 and 2007.

Texas additionally defeated Colorado twice in 2005. The Longhorns, however, were responsible for both losses — falling in a rematch with Nebraska in 1999 and Colorado in 2001.

Saturday will mark the first time ever for TCU playing in the Big 12 Championship Game. The Horned Frogs didn’t enter the conference until 2012. TCU did take home a co-championship with Baylor in 2014.

A win for Oklahoma would all but guarantee the Sooners a berth to the College Football Playoff. A TCU win, however, could wreak havoc on Oklahoma’s postseason plans.

Kickoff for the game is set for 11:30 a.m. CT at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

The post Rematch history favors Oklahoma in Big 12 title game appeared first on Diehards.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.