Oklahoma State QB Mason Rudolph named Davey O’Brien Award finalist

Oklahoma State senior quarterback Mason Rudolph was named one of three finalists for the 2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced in a release on Wednesday.

The Davey O’Brien Award is annually presented to the best quarterback in college football. Rudolph was named a finalist along with Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield and Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett.

The senior from Rock Hill, South Carolina, threw for 4,553 yards this season and had 35 passing touchdowns to 9 interceptions. The Cowboys went 9-3 with Rudolph at the helm of one of the most productive offenses in college football, and few quarterbacks could match Rudolph’s video game numbers.

If Rudolph were to win the award, he’d be the first Cowboy in program history.

The winner of the 2017 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced during the Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 7 in Atlanta, Georgia. The winner will also be honored at the Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 19, 2018, in Fort Worth, Texas.

The post Oklahoma State QB Mason Rudolph named Davey O’Brien Award finalist appeared first on Diehards.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.