Nebraska to retire jerseys of eight former players at season opener

Seventeen players have their Nebraska jersey retired, but that number will increase in the Cornhuskers’ season opener against Arkansas State on Sept. 2.

There, the Nebraska athletics department will honor eight former players by retiring their numbers and adding their names to the display on North Stadium, according to a release Wednesday.

Among those being honored are Guy Chamberlin, Ed Weir, Clarence Swanson, George Sauer, Sam Francis, Forrest Behm, Bobby Reynolds and Wayne Meylan.

“This is a fitting recognition for the greatest players of the first 75 years of Cornhusker football,” Nebraska Director of Athletics Shawn Eichorst said. “These men were at the pinnacle of the sport, earning induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. They are deserving of their names being placed alongside our other all-time greats at the top of the North Stadium. We will be recognizing the 125th Anniversary of the N-Club at the season opener against Arkansas State, making this the right time to honor this group of legendary players.”

The post Nebraska to retire jerseys of eight former players at season opener appeared first on Land of 10.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.