Miami Hurricanes receiving little love for 2017 awards

Apparently, the best season for the Miami Hurricanes in over a decade didn’t impress the ACC award voters.

Miami is 10-1 and ranked No. 7 in the AP Top 25 and Amway Coaches Poll. The Hurricanes won the ACC Coastal division for the first time ever. They’ll be facing off against Clemson in the conference title game with a College Football Playoff berth on the line.

None of that mattered when the conference announced the 2017 All-ACC Football First Team on Monday.

The lone Hurricanes player to make the first team was kicker Michael Badgley.

According to the official conference website, a voting panel of 45 media members and the league’s 14 head coaches cast ballots for the 2017 All-ACC Football Teams.

Miami had six selections for the second team: Tight end Christopher Herndon IV, running back Travis Homer, defensive tackle RJ McIntosh, linebacker Shaquille Quarterman, cornerback Michael Jackson and safety Jaquan Johnson.

The Hurricanes additionally had three selections for the third team: Wide receiver Braxton Berrios, offensive tackle KC McDermott and defensive end Trent Harris.

The full list of All-ACC players can be found here.

Meanwhile, the turnover chain inventor isn’t getting any shine either.

Miami defensive coordinator Manny Diaz was snubbed from the finalists list for the Broils Award, which is given to the nation’s top assistant.

The finalists are: Kevin Steele (Auburn DC), Tony Elliott (Clemson Co-OC/RBs), Bill Bedenbaugh (Oklahoma OC/OL), Troy Walters (UCF OC) and Jim Leonhard (Wisconsin DC).

The ACC title game between Miami-Clemson is slated for Dec. 2 (8 p.m. EST) at Bank of America Stadium and will be televised on ABC.

The post Miami Hurricanes receiving little love for 2017 awards appeared first on Diehards.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.