Iowa names 17 players to 2017 leadership group

Iowa named 17 players to its 2017 Hawkeye leadership group Thursday. It’s a unit that consists of every class on the Iowa roster. Members were selected through a team vote.

Here are the 17 players on Iowa’s 2017 leadership group:


  • DL Nathan Bazata
  • LB Josey Jewell
  • LB Ben Niemann
  • WR Matt VandeBerg
  • OL Sean Welsh


  • OL James Daniels
  • DE Parker Hesse
  • DB Brandon Snyder
  • QB Tyler Wiegers


  • LB Amani Jones
  • DE Anthony Nelson
  • FB Brady Ross
  • QB Nathan Stanley

Redshirt freshmen

  • LB Nick Niemann
  • RB Toren Young

True freshmen

  • DE A.J. Epenesa
  • OL Tristan Wirfs

The leadership group will vote on Iowa’s gameday captains throughout the season.

The post Iowa names 17 players to 2017 leadership group appeared first on Land of 10.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.