Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz wins coach of the week award after beating Ohio State

Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz won the Dodd Trophy Coach of the Week award after his Hawkeyes handed a 55-24 defeat to Ohio State in Week 10. The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation announced the news in a press release.

“A win over a top ten team is always a feat, but a 31-point, dominating performance was a statement moment for Coach Ferentz and his Iowa Hawkeyes,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “During his nearly two decades leading the Hawkeyes, Ferentz has built the program into one of the most consistent winners in all of college football.”

The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation hands out an award each week. Here’s who’s won it so far:

2017 Dodd Coach of the Week Winners
Week Coach School
1 Jim Mora UCLA
2 Lincoln Riley Oklahoma
3 Dan Mullen Mississippi State
4 Gary Patterson TCU
5 Mike Leach Washington State
6 Matt Campbell Iowa State
7 Dino Babers Syracuse
8 Brian Kelly Notre Dame
9 Urban Meyer Ohio State
10 Kirk Ferentz Iowa

Per the release:

“A panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member will identify the final list of potential recipients at the conclusion of the 2017 season. The winner of the 2017 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week.”

The post Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz wins coach of the week award after beating Ohio State appeared first on Land of 10.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.