Former Tennessee football coach Phillip Fulmer headlines 8-person Hall of Fame Class

8 new additions to the Tennessee Athletics Hall of Fame

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – Former offensive lineman and coach Phillip Fulmer will headline the eight-person 2017 induction class for the Tennessee Athletics Hall of Fame it was announced Thursday.

The ceremony is scheduled for Friday, Oct. 13.

Fulmer played guard for the Vols from 1969-71 and led his alma mater to a 152-52 coaching mark over his career. Fulmer’s 1998 team posted a 13-0 record with a 23-16 win over Florida State for a BCS National Championship.

The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame inducted Fulmer in 2001. He also made the College Football Hall of Fame in 2012.

In addition to Fulmer, the class includes the late Gen. Robert Neyland (coach; football), Justin Gatlin (men’s track), Todd Helton (baseball), Monica Abbott (softball), the late Ray Bussard (coach; men’s swimming), Jeremy Linn (men’s swimming) and Delisa Walton Myricks (women’s track).

“Halls of fame, by design, stand to honor those who have truly distinguished themselves as elite,” Tennessee Vice Chancellor/Director of Athletics John Currie said in a release. “And this Class of 2017 represents the very best of some of the University of Tennessee’s most elite eras in their respective sports. These eight individuals are legendary and indeed transformational figures in Tennessee’s storied athletic history, and I salute our Hall of Fame committee for selecting this outstanding class.”

Others in the class

Neyland won four national championships in 1938, 1940, 1950 and 1951 while coaching the Vols. He posted a 173-31-12 record over his career.

Gatlin won seven individual SEC Championships (two relay) during his two-year career at Tennessee. He won the IAAF World Championship 100 meters on Sunday.

RELATED:  Tennessee track legend Justin Gatlin: ‘Ran for my life,’ beat Usain Bolt

Helton has not played for Tennessee in 22 seasons, but many of his records stand. He holds records as the career leader in home runs (38), runs batted in (238), walks (147) and saves (23).

Abbott led the country in wins all four years she took the circle for the Vols. She struck out 724 batters for a single-season record in 2007.

Bussard coached a dominant program from 1968-88. Tennessee won a combined individual 26 NCAA and 123 SEC Championships during Bussard’s 20-year tenure.

Linn won six national championships in the 100 breaststroke (three times), 200 breaststroke and breaststroke relay (twice) in his four-year career.

Walton Myricks won five individual SEC Championships (three relay), nine individual AIAW/NCAA Championships (four relay) and she was a 12-time All-American.

The post Former Tennessee football coach Phillip Fulmer headlines 8-person Hall of Fame Class appeared first on SEC Country.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.