Every FBS program in Texas has changed coaches in the past 5 years, except TCU

Gary Patterson has brought a kind of stability to TCU that is foreign to every other major college football program in the state.

There are 12 FBS programs in Texas. After Texas A&M fired Kevin Sumlin and Rice fired David Bailiff this week, every program in the state besides TCU has made at least one coaching change since the end of the 2012 season.

More changes could be on the way with SMU’s Chad Morris and UTSA’s Frank Wilson among the candidates for head coaching positions elsewhere in the country. Meanwhile, Patterson has been the head coach in Fort Worth since 2001.

Take a look at how many coaches the rest of the state has gone through in that time frame.

Team Coaching Changes Since 2012 Non-interim Head Coaches Since 2012
Baylor 1 Art Briles, Matt Rhule
Houston 2 Tony Levine, Tom Herman, Major Applewhite
North Texas 1 Dan McCarney, Seth Littrell
Rice 1 David Bailiff*
SMU 1 June Jones, Chad Morris
TCU 0 Gary Patterson
Texas 2 Mack Brown, Charlie Strong, Tom Herman
Texas A&M 1 Kevin Sumlin*
Texas State 1 Dennis Franchione, Everett Withers
Texas Tech 1 Tommy Tuberville, Kliff Kingsbury
UTEP 2 Mike Price, Sean Kugler*
UTSA 1 Larry Coker, Frank Wilson

*Fired or resigned in 2017

Patterson, in his 17th season at TCU, is the second-longest continually tenured head coach in college football. Only Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz has been at his current school longer. In a profession where turnover is the norm, Patterson is doing something extremely abnormal.

The TCU coach will likely be sticking around for a while longer as well. Patterson  signed a contract extension through 2024 last week.

The post Every FBS program in Texas has changed coaches in the past 5 years, except TCU appeared first on Diehards.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.