Charles Woodson headlines Michigan’s 2017 Hall of Honor class

Former All-American defensive back Charles Woodson and six others will make up Michigan’s 2017 Hall of Honor class, the school’s athletic department announced Tuesday.

The group also includes Gil LaRose (men’s gymnastics), Norvard Nalan (wrestling), Mary (Fischbach) Jones (women’s swimming and diving), Lisa (Larsen) Rainsberger (women’s track & field/cross country), Marty Turco (ice hockey) and MaliVai Washington (men’s tennis). The university will honor these individuals in the spring.

Woodson, a two-time first-team All-American, is still the only defensive player to win the Heisman Trophy. He won the award in 1997 while leading the Wolverines to a national championship.

After becoming the fourth selection in the 1998 NFL Draft, Woodson went on to become a nine-time Pro Bowler and four-time first-team All-Pro. He also made the NFL 2000s All-Decade team.

His time at Michigan may also soon earn him a spot in the College Football Hall of Fame.

The post Charles Woodson headlines Michigan’s 2017 Hall of Honor class appeared first on Land of 10.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.