J.T. Barrett, Trace McSorley named finalists for Manning Award

Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett and Penn State’s Trace McSorley were both named finalists for the 2017 Manning Award on Thursday. The award, which had 11 finalists, is given out each season to the nation’s top quarterback.

Paul Myerberg of USA Today tweeted out the full list of Manning Award finalists.

The Manning Award is picked by the Sugar Bowl Committee, and the winner will be announced following bowl season. Deshaun Watson of Clemson won the honor in both 2015 and 2016.

Barrett edged McSorley for the honor of Big Ten quarterback of the year, which was named Thursday morning. Barrett averaged 227.3 passing yards per game and threw 33 touchdowns and 7 interceptions to go with a 66.2 completion percentage. Barrett added 672 yards and 9 touchdowns on the ground.

McSorley was the 2017 Big Ten passing leader, throwing for 269 yards per game. The Nittany Lions junior tossed 26 touchdowns and had 8 interceptions and a 65.3 completion percentage. McSorley scored 11 rushing touchdowns and totaled 431 yards with his legs.

The post J.T. Barrett, Trace McSorley named finalists for Manning Award appeared first on Land of 10.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.