Two Gators named among college football’s best over past 75 years

The Gators celebrate a win. (AP Photo/ John Raoux)

The Gators celebrate a win. (AP Photo/ John Raoux)

Florida football stars Tim Tebow and Jack Youngblood were named to the Football Writers Association of America’s 75th anniversary All-America teams released Thursday.

Tebow, who won two national titles and a Heisman Trophy while playing for the Gators from 2006 through 2009, was chosen as the second-team quarterback. Youngblood, who is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame and played for the Gators from 1968 through 1970, was chosen as a third-team defensive end.

The FWAA All-America teams are made to honor the best players ever in the history of college football.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.