This SEC defenseman is on the Lombardi watch list

Tennessee senior linebacker/defensive lineman Curt Maggitt has been named a preseason finalist for the prestigious Lombardi Award.

The honor “goes annually to the college football lineman — offense or defense — who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.”

Past winners will be familiar to SEC fans – the list includes David Pollack, Nick Fairley, Cornelius Bennett, Tracy Rocker and Glenn Dorsey.

In the 45-year history of the Lombardi award, the players listed above are the only from the SEC to win it. Maggitt is looking to become the sixth SEC player to win the award, and to do so he’ll have to beat out numerous SEC lineman that play in the state of Alabama.

Those players include:


Avery Young, Cassanova McKinzy


Reggie Ragland, Ryan Kelly, A’Shawn Robinson

Maggitt had a monster year for the Vols in 2014, finishing with 11 sacks and 15 tackles for loss.

Follow Adam Krohn on Twitter.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.