Eight candidates qualify to replace former state Sen. Judson Hill

Feb 24, 2017
Former state Sen. Judson Hill, R-Marietta, on the floor of the Senate. BRANT SANDERLIN/BSANDERLIN@AJC.COM

Eight candidates — five Republicans and three Democrats — have signed up to replace former state Sen. Judson Hill, R-Marietta, who left his seat earlier this month to run for Congress.

The Republican candidates are Hamilton Beck, Matt Campbell, Roy Daniels, Kay Kirkpatrick and Gus Makris. The Democratic candidates are Christine Triebsch, Exton Howard and Bob Wiskind.

Qualifying for Senate District 32, which includes portions of Cobb and Fulton counties, ended at 1 p.m. Friday.

Hill, reelected in November, resigned Feb. 13 to become one of 18 candidates seeking to replace former U.S. Rep. Tom Price, who President Donald Trump tapped to become health and human services secretary.

The special election to replace Hill will be April 18, the same day as the federal special election to replace Price.

MORE: Explore Georgia Legislative Navigator

The February 24th edition of Georgia Legislative Week in Review with Aaron Gould Sheinin, Kristina Torres and the Phrase of the Week by James Salzer. Video by Bob Andres / bandres@ajc.com