Marietta Council candidates to be in Dec. 5 runoff

  • Carolyn Cunningham
  • For the AJC
1:58 p.m Wednesday, Nov. 8, 2017 Metro Atlanta / State news
The Dec. 5 runoff in Marietta will be between Cheryl Richardson and Jay Davis for the Ward 1 post on the Marietta City Council. AJC file photo

Cheryl Richardson and Jay Davis will be in a Dec. 5 runoff for the Ward 1 post on the Marietta City Council.

Richardson received 48.31 percent or 114 votes and Davis garnered 34.32 percent or 81 votes with Greg Bieger at 17.37 percent or 41 votes.

Ward 1 Councilman Stuart Fleming decided not to seek re-election. In Ward 5, Councilman Ruben J. Sands was defeated by Reggie Copeland. Copeland won 53.43 percent or 218 votes to Sands’ 39.22 percent or 160 votes and Ben Lyman’s 30 votes.

ELECTION RESULTS: Results of key local races in metro Atlanta

The other races were uncontested for Marietta Mayor Steve “Thunder” Tumlin, Ward 6 Councilwoman Michelle Cooper Kelly and Councilmen Griffin L. Chalfant from Ward 6, Johnny Walker from Ward 3 and G. A. (Andy) Morris from Ward 4. As the only candidate for Ward 7, Joseph R. Goldstein will replace his father, Philip M. Goldstein, who did not seek re-election after serving in that office continuously since 1980.