Where to find these gluten-free Halloween candies in metro Atlanta

0

Where to find these gluten-free Halloween candies in metro Atlanta

View CaptionHide Caption
Luke Jones / CC BY 2.0/For the AJC
Halloween candy can be hard to resist, so it pays to make some smart swaps to save a few calories.

Whether you're tailoring your diet by choice or because of a severe allergy, it can be tough to cut gluten out of everyday eating — especially when it comes time to treat yourself. But Halloween holds plenty of opportunity to nom on something sweet, even if you're going door-to-door with the kids on a trick-or-treating adventure. Here are some of the varieties that are usually safe for gluten-free trick-or-treaters.

Selected chocolate bars

Yep, that's right — these classic melt-in-your-mouth goodies are gluten-free when presented without nuts or unusual flavors. Tiny bites like Hershey's Kisses are safe, but their larger counterparts may not be. To be safe, always read full labels.

Jelly Beans

Jelly Belly makes no bones about the gluten-free properties of their popular nibbles. "Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten free, peanut free, dairy free, fat free and vegetarian friendly," states the company on its website. Keep an eye out for festive individually-wrapped bags at your local grocery store, or pour a bag into bowls for your next holiday party.

Lollipops

Whether you're nursing an addiction to DumDums or counting how many licks it'll take to get to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop, lollipop lovers will be relieved to know that most of the easy-to-eat treats are gluten-free.

All varieties of Gimbal's Fine Candies

It's not just those sensitive to gluten who benefit from Gimbal's Fine Candies' careful cooking. The company boasts a gluten-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, dairy-free, soy-free and egg-free roster of candies that make candy binges risk-free for kids (and adults) with allergies. These candies, which vary from jelly beans to cinnamon LavaBalls to licorice puppies, are available at stores like Walmart, Rite Aid, Big Lots and more.

M&Ms

One of America's most well-known and beloved candies is also suitable for everyone, as long as you stick to the original flavor. While the peanut, coconut, mint, and seasonal varieties do contain wheat, plain M&Ms are gluten-free (and easy to find, too).

For a more exhaustive list of gluten-free candies, take a peek at this great PDF from celiac.org.

View Comments 0

Weather and Traffic